Lochend Golf Club




At long last we finally got a Championship Finals Day and for James Tetlow it was a day to remember.
4-down after 6 holes and the experience of 5-times champion Stuart Turner threatened to overpower the "quiet man" who moved to Edinburgh from Manchester 4-years ago.
However, with no sign of panic, James got one back at the 7th, was still three down after 10 then by the 15th it was all square and the game was very much on.
Still nothing between them going up the 18th and when James's third short ran more than 9 feet by the pin and Stuart sent his third shot stone dead for the conceded par he must have sensed one hand was on the trophy for the first time since 2003. Then James, not for the first time today, nailed a gutsy putt to take the match into the extra hole.
And what a finish it turned out to be, James finished the match in style having watched Stuart safely in the vicinity of the pin in three, James proceeded to nail a 33 foot putt from off the green for a birdie three completing a fine comeback and the Championship win. As for Stuart, he can take heart from having come so close and played so well. He'll be back next year going for that elusive 6th title.
There was another great comback in the B Final as Steven Cockburn overturned a three-down deficite against John Selcraig to win at the 17th.
In the C Section Gavin Glendinning and Robert Johnstone went three extra holes before Gavin eventually came up tops.
Willie Hamilton won the Seniors Final 2&1 over John Todd.



Steven Cockburn
James Tetlow
Gavin Glendinning
9th September
The Championship Final line-up is now compete as James Tetlow defeated David Graham to book his fmal place against 5 times winner Stuart Turner.
20th August
This years Championship continues to be plagued by the weather. Following another downpoar tonight which scuppered any chance of the course re-opening in time for this weekend it has been decided that the Championship Finals will now take place on Saturday 27th September.
Semi-Finalist have been asked to arrange their matches sometime before then.
Stuart Turner and Robert Binnie have already braved the elements to play their semi-final and 5-times winer Stuart Turner came out tops with a 4-up win and will play either David Graham or James Tetlow in the final.
6th August Rain Stops play
Unfortunately Edinburgh was hit with a months rainfall in 36 hours meaning the semi-finals had to be postponed this week.
Plans are under way to re-scheduled the semi-finals for Wednesday 20th August and Finals Day for Saturday 23rd. Fingers crossed.
However four ladies decided to play the nine holes that were open tonight and found out just how bad it was. (thanks to Eileen Gillespie for the pics)
Trying to clear the water from the 7th Tee
Bunkers Disappear under water
And a new lake appeared across the 9th

John and Ciaron look back on a fine match

James and David ready for next week's Semi

Red hot favourite Gavin Glendinning lived up to expectation securing his semi-final place with a big win over Brian Ross.
Alex and John looking forward to their Semi

1st August
Only one previous winner makes it into the semi-finals

Five times Champion Stuart Turner proved too strong on the night for top qualifier Alan Thompson. A Chip-in for a 2 at the 12th sent him on the way to a 3 & 2 win and another step on the way to becoming only the second person to win the event 6 times. Stuart now meets Robert Binnie who carded 5 three's in the last six holes to finally see off 5-times winner Neil Donaldson at the 18th. In the other Semi-final David Graham, who beat the 2005 Champion Derek Cantley will play James Tetlow who saw off Greame Markey's challenge at the 18th hole.
Match of the day in the B Championship saw John Selcraig and Ciaron Forrest play out a 19 hole thriller. John got off to a great start winning the first three holes then Ciaron got of the mark winning the next 4 and it was prerty close all the way. Only a wayward drive from Ciaron on the extra hole left him with too much to do, despite an excellent recovery shot as John's played the hole straight up the middle finally sinking the putt to take him forward to play Alex Ferguson in next week's semi-finals.
Next up the C Section and the Ladies enter the fray on Monday night.

28th July
Top Seeds win through as former Champions tumble in the first round.
Craigentinny was pretty dull and misty tonight as the Club Championship first round kicked off.
Top seend Alan Thompson was taken all the way by last years winner Colin Farwell. His reward for a tough 18 hole win is a quarter final match-up with 5-times winner Stuart Turner who proved too strong on the night for David Harper.
Robert Binnie also won well in his match against Jamie Crisp and will now play Neil Donaldson who's 5 Championship wins were won between 1984 and 2006. Neil was given a tough match from Mick Downie who's excellent bunker shot at the 18th just failed to prolong the match.
The Duncan Ireland, Derek Cantley match was always going to be close and as expected from the two former Champions it went all the way as the lead changed hands more than a few times. At the 15th Duncan pitched in for a two to take the lead then Derek levelled again at the next hole and by the 18th it was still on a knife-edge as Derek over-shot the green to end up in a horrid lie in the rough but Duncan could'nt capitalise as his approach ended in the greenside bunker. Derek recovered well and held on to win and now plays David Graham after his win over David Glanville.
And the line-up for Monday's quarter finals was complete as Graeme Markey who beat Steven Harper at the 15th will now play second top qualifier James Tetlow who held his nerve to win his tie with former winner Colin Davidson at the 18th.

Previous Winners

Back to Home Page