Lochend Golf Club




14th August - Finals Day
The finals day went ahead today in glorious sunshine and for the second time the name of Colin Farwell will appear on the role of honour. A blistering birdie run early on gave Colin a comfortable lead which proved too strong for John Williamson who was always playing catch-up. Colin's powerful performance saw him take the title with an emphatic 7&6 win and will represent Lochend in the Midlothian Champion of Champions tournament next year and I'm sure John will be back next year bidding to go a step further.
The B Championship looked like it was also heading for an early finish with Robert Kay holding a 4-up lead over Craig Sinclair with holes running out. However a fine comeback from Craig over the final half dozen holes saw the match go into extra time and it took three extra holes before Robert finally sunk the winning putt. Fergus Bannon overcame defending champion Alex Young to win the C Section and Philip Demarco took the Seniors Championship winning his match with Bob Harper.
Experience counted also in the Ladies Championship as Linda Bain won her 8th Championship, overcoming a spirited performance from Mandy McBain. Linda made her customary slow start and Mandy took advantage by parring the first three holes to take an early 2-up lead. However Linda came back with a par-birdie-par at holes 4,5 and 6 to turn the tie around and take a lead which she was to retain and increase to 4-up after 13. After Mandy won the 14th the 15th was halved then with Linda sitting pretty on the 16th green Mandy conceded the match and clearly enjoyed her first final.
The Ladies Bronze Championship between Fiona Findlay and Mayte Vaamonde was a closely contested match. Fiona took an early 2-up lead after 3 holes but was quickly pegged back as Mayte took a 1-up lead at the turn. The match continued with never more than one hole separating the two and it looked like captain Fiona was going to just edge it at the 18th after Mayte's tee-shot ended in the trees on the right then the recovery shot found the fairway bunker with Fiona's shots safely up the fairway. However Fiona's putt for the match failed to drop and a superb up and down from Mayte took the tie into the extra hole and momentum was definitely with the Spanish with no missed fairway on the 1st as Mayte sunk the winning putt to take the 2010 Lochend Bronze Championship (her second major trophy in her first year at Lochend, alongside the Ladies Open) and become the latest Spanish success story of the summer.

The Champ after his brilliant final performance

B Champion Robert Kay after his nail biting final

Fergus Bannon with the C Section Trophy

Ladies Champion Linda Bain celebrates an 8th title and Bronze Champion Mayte Vaamonde celebrates a very successful first season at Lochend
Philip Demarco with the Seniors Championship Trophy.

Mayte flies the Spanish Flag

The "Tres Hombres" are impressed
2010 Champion


11th August
A busy night down at Craigentinny as all the Championship Semi-finals were played.....




The 2010 Championship will be contested by John Williamson and 2007 Champ, Colin Farwell.
John relied on a decisive birdie at the 18th to win his tie with Michael Devine and Colin's semi-final with Robert Binnie was looking like a real classic early on with holes 4 to 10 being won or drawn with nothing more than 3-strokes however Robert couldn't maintain his high putting standard and Colin capitalised to win the match at the 16th.
Robert Kay and Craig Sinclair will put aside their friendship for a couple of hours on Saturday as they meet in the B section Final. Both had impressive semi-final results tonight with Robert winning 3&2 over Scott Robertson and Craig beating Richard Budge 4 & 3.

Alex Young continued his defence of the C Championship with a semi-final win at the 18th hole over David Menzies. Fergus Bannon also secured his place in the final, winning his tie with John Todd at the 17th.

Draw In Full



9th August
C Section Quarter finals tonight and the holder Alex Young continued his defence of the title with a win over Terry Coyle and will play David Menzies in the Semi-finals. The other semi-final has Fergus Bannon meet John Todd
Next up .......all semi-finals WEDNESDAY NIGHT......FINALS DAY SATURDAY

6th August

Quarter final action tonight and Michael Devine caused a minor upset by over-coming the top qualifier David Graham, setting up a semi-final match with John Williamson who received a walk-over when James Tetlow was sadly unable to play.
In the other semi-final, Colin Farwell (the only previous winner of the competition remaining) will face Robert Binnie who staged a remarkable comeback tonight after being 5-down at the turn to Colin Golder. Robert then proceeded to win the next 7 holes then clinch the match at the 17th, very impressive.
The top qualifier in the B Championship also fell at the quarter-final stage tonight as John Selcraig lost to Robert Kay. Robert now meets Scott Robertson who kept his cool at the 18th to win his tie with Dave Bennet. Richard Budge meets Craig Sinclair in the other semi-final.

4th August
The B Championship kicked off tonight and it was success for John Selcraig (who won this trophy in 2008), Robert Kay, Dave Bennet, Scott Robertson, Richard Budge, James Markey and Craig Sinclair. The match between Captain Alex Fenwick and Secretary Alex Ferguson (who was runner-up last year) turned out to be the tie of the round. Never much in it Fenwick took a 1-up lead onto 17th and missed the chance to finish the match when his medium range putt stayed above ground. Ferguson took his chance at the 18th when a fine recovery shot from the 14th fairway found the green in two. two putts was good enough to level the match and take it up the 19th. The previous evening Ferguson had to play four extra holes before succumbing to Stuart Mccallum in the summer matchplay but it was a different story tonight as he pressured a poor drive from Fenwick with two fine shots to reach the green and two putts to win the match and a place in the next round to play Craig Sinclair.

2nd August

The Championship kicked off tonight with some surprising results and only two previous winners making it through to the quarter finals.
David Graham maintained his fine qualifying form to see off the 5-times winner Stuart Turner and will now face new member Michael Devine. 2008 Champion James Tetlow came through to set up a quarter final tie with John Williamson who himself overcame another 5-time Champion Neil Donaldson.
In the other half of the draw Colin Farwell, the 2007 Champion, will face Graeme Davidson with Robert Binnie meeting Colin Golder. Sorry I couldn't make it down tonight so I don't have the scores.

Previous Winners

Back to Home Page