Lochend Golf Club





20th August Finals Day

David Graham will be the new name on the Championship trophy after his exceptional performance in the final against Alan Thompson. From the outset David took command to be 4-up after 5 holes thanks to birdies at the 3rd, 4th and 5th. Alan's tee-shot at the par 3 6th was within a couple of foot to give him a chance but David sunk his 20 footer for yet another birdie to pile the pressure on and to Alan's credit he sunk the putt for the half in 2's and from then on there was no way back with David matching everything Alan presented. It all ended at the 15th when an excellent up and down for a half was enough for david to win the title


Well done to the other Champions.
Chris Houston dealt with a late fight-back from Andrew Hutchison to win the B Section Final at the first extra hole.
James Clark won his C Section Final convincingly over Eddie kennedy.
Rodger Waddel beat Eddie Paul to take the Seniors Championship.
And possibly the surprise result of the day was Diane Moncrieff''s win over 8 times champion Linda Bain to take the Ladies Championship



17th August -
Torrential rain still playing havoc with the championship schedule it is hoped all the various finalists will be known by Saturday's re-arranged finals day (barring any more monsoons).
However we do know that the Club Championship finalists are David Graham and Alan Thompson. David found himself 6-up with 6 to play but had to survive a spirited late fightback from Stephen Harper to eventually win at the 17th 2&1. Alan Thompson also won at the 17th over Robert Binnie.
The B Championship Final will be between Andrew Hutchison and Chris Houston. Eddie Kennedy will have to wait to find out his opponent in the C Championship Final as James Clark and Eric Cowan will be playing their semi-final on the Saturday morning.
And well done to Roger Waddell and Eddie Paul who madie it to the Seniors Final.
So all being well finals day should go ahead on Saturday, there will be a new club champion and no doubt it will be a fun day so come along and support all the finalists.

Draw In Full

8th August
C Championship tonight. Tam Reid and Eddie Kennedy both won their matches at the 18th to set-up their semi-final match. In the other half of the draw James Clark and Eric Cowan won their matches more convincingly to set up their semi-final on Wednesday.

5th August
Quarter finals of both A and B championships tonight and first up David Graham and Graeme Markey required an extra hole to decide their match after David held his nerve on the 18th with a 5-foot putt to half the 18th and then went on to win the extra hole with a par 4 to progress to the semi-final and will now meet Stephen Harper who just edged out brother David at the 18th.
Alan Thompson's chip in at the 15th gave him the edge over Paul Young. Alan holding on for a 2&1 win. Defending Champ Colin Farwell and Robert Binnie fought out a tight match with Robert's early 2-up lead after 6 holes disappearing after Colin won the 7th then levelled the tie with birdie at the 8th and from there it was never more than 1 hole in it until Colin's wayward drive at the 18th proved decisive as Robert kept it steady with a par to book his semi-final spot ensuring there will be a new name on the trophy this year.
In the B Section David Grassick overcame top seed Jimmy Valentine and now meets Andrew Hutchison in the semi-final after his 4&3 win over James Markey.
John Young was one-up against Willie Hamilton the 18th but had to play three off the tee when he lost his ball after a wild drive. However his recovery and a fine putt for a five was good enough to half the hole and win the match. He now will play Chris Houston who's birdie 2 at the 17th decided the match with Graham Ross.

Robert Binnie after his 18th hole win over Colin Farwell
Colin's still smiling
Stephen's contemplating his semi-final with David Graham
Alan Thompson will meet Robert Binnie in the semi-final
David Grassick looks forward to his B Championship semi-final as Jimmy Valentine can look back on good qualifying results including that excellent 59.

Andrew Hutchison who now meets David Grassick in the Semi
John Young after his 2&1 win over Willie Hamilton...
.....Will now meeet Chris Houston in the B Championship semi-final
Then there were the supporters
Captain Alec Fenwick with his number one fan

Draw In Full

3rd August
B Section first round tonight and Jimmy Valentine continued his top qualifying form to win 2&1 over Alex Ferguson, and now meets David Grassick who overcame David Bennet.
James Markey followed son Graeme's lead by winning his first round match 3&2 to set up a quarter final tie with Andrew Hutchison who beat Graham Hill at the 18th.
In the other half of the draw John Young's win over Alec Fenwick and Willie Hamilton's 1-up win over Gordon Cook matches them up in the 3rd quarter final.
Tie of the round between Stuart McCallum and Graham Ross required 3 extra holes before a wayward drive from Stuart opened the door for Graham to finally take advantage and close the match out and progress to a quarter match with Chris Houston who overcame Harry Bell 2&1.
1st August
The Club Championship kicked-off tonight with some surprise results and close matches with more than half of the ties going up the 18th before being decided.
First up Graeme Markey produced arguably the result of the night by holding on at the 18th for a 1-up win over top qualifier and 5-times champion Neil Donaldson. Graeme now meets David Graham who also held on at the 18th coming out best in a bunker-shoot out with Michael Devine.
The Harper brothers (David and Stephen) will face each other in Friday's quarter final after wins over Robert Kay and Alan Young respectively.
In the other half of the draw Alan Thompson won 3&2 over Dean Robertson and will now face Paul Young who produced another surprise result when he knocked-out 5-times champ Stuart Turner.
The re-run of last year's final between defending Champion Colin Farwell and John Williamson proved to be a grand tussle all the way to the 19th where Colin's birdie 3 clinched the place in the quarter-final where Colin, now the only previous winner left in the competition, will face Robert Binnie who had a convincing 5&4 win over Chris Reid.

28th July - First Round Draw
After all the qualifying rounds the club championship first round draw has thrown-up some very interesting matches. There's a repeat of last years final as twice champion Colin Farwell meets John Williamson again. Two rounds of 68 made Neil Donaldson the top qualifier and he begins his quest for a 6th championship against Graeme Markey.
Second top qualifier Robert Binnie takes on Chris Reid and third placed qualifier Alan Thompson meets Dean Robertson.

Here are some interesting facts...
Only three previous winners of the Championship have qualified for the 2011 Championship (Neil Donaldson, Colin Farwell and Stuart Turner )
Neil Donaldson and Stuart Turner
are both attempting to win a record 6th time Neil's last win was 2006 and Stuart last won in 2003
No one has ever won the B Section then the Club Championship in successive years, Robert Kay, 2010 B Section Champion has qualified for this year's Club Championship.
It's been 8 years since someone successfully defended the trophy (Stuart Turner 2003)
The action kicks off on Monday (can't wait to see how it all unfolds)